Pseudo Chicken Lasagne: A 3-ingredient dish

 

Absolutely Unhealthy Baked Chicken Enchiladas

If you’re as knowledgeable as me about Mexican food, you would probably wonder what an enchilada is. You don’t really need to know what it is, if your criteria for eating something is whether it is delicious or not. Delicious, it is. Healthy, this dish is not. It’s called the Easy Chicken Enchilada Casserole.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
In My Shopping Basket

#InMyShoppingBasket: Enchilada kit from Old El Paso for $8.55, Chicken slices for under $4, Mozzarella cheese for $5.95. Not pictured: sour cream (which I couldn’t find at first)

I call this the 3-ingredient recipe cos the enchilada sauce and tortillas come in one box. Recipes with few ingredients sometimes scare me. It’s even more embarrassing if you screw up such a simple recipe with such few ingredients eh?

Ingredients necessary:

  • 397 grams enchilada sauce (or can)
  • 339 grams shredded Monterey Jack cheese (shredded)
  • 6 corn tortillas (6 inch each)
  • 2 chicken breasts

I also added:

  • Half an onion, diced
  • Half a yellow capsicum, diced

Since I couldn’t find monterey cheese in the supermarket, I decided to substitute it with cheddar (for taste) and mozzarella ( for stringy chewiness).

Cooking instructions:

  1. Get a pot, put some olive/canola oil in and start stir frying the onions till they become slightly translucent. (You may skip this step if you hate onions with a vengeance or have none on hand.)
  2. Throw chicken pieces and enough enchilada sauce to coat it. Cook for about 20 minutes on low to medium heat. Stir occasionally so the chicken doesn’t stick to the bottom.
  3. (This is when I threw in the yellow capsicum pieces.)
  4. Remove chicken from the pot and shred with two forks.
  5. Preheat oven to 375 F degrees. (I did 180 degrees C on my oven.)
  6. Start layering the casserole. Start with about ¼ cup of the leftover Enchilada sauce over the bottom of a baking dish. Place 2 tortillas on the bottom, top with ⅓ of the chicken and ⅓ of the remaining sauce. Sprinkle with ⅓ of the cheese and repeat starting with 2 more tortillas, then chicken, sauce, cheese. Repeat with last layer with the remaining ingredients, tortillas, chicken, sauce and cheese.
  7. Bake for 20 to 30 minutes uncovered, until bubbly and cheese has melted and started to brown on top.
  8. Serve warm.
Moments before I shoved it into the oven.

The comments:

Mum and sister said it tasted good and I needn’t have been so worried about the final product. Also, that it looked like lasagne (cos of the layers of tortillas). Plus, that I can bring this to a potluck. = PASS!

So. I’m not sure when I will make this again. It is not exactly the healthiest dish available. However, it is relatively simple to make and one can’t go very wrong (though I did go wrong in some ways.). And I pronounce it to be a SHOVEL type of food, great for eating when you’re feeling lazy or heartbroken. No need to think, remove bones or cut. Just put it in your mouth and chew. The oozing cheese and flavourful sauce ensures no one will pronounce this bland.

After Action Review (AAR):

  • I made the mistake of reading a recipe and watching a video on the same page, not realising it was a RELATED video. I.e. Not following the written instructions. Halfway through, I just winged it and did a bit of both.
  • Instead of layering the cheese in the casserole, I cooked it in the pot with the chicken. I also added sour cream into the pot. Thankfully, no harm done there! :p
  • I should have read up more about enchiladas, what they look like and are supposed to taste like before attempting something like this.
  • Lesson learnt: stick to one recipe.
Leave a Reply

