Eating my words: A simple udon meal for one

So just when I said the only times I cook are on weekends, I end up cooking a chapalang (mishmash) udon soup for dinner 🍜.

I could’ve chosen the cold, slightly sad-looking sushi 🍣  at the supermarket, at a marked down price OR I could enjoy a steaming hot bowl of udon with various condiments thrown in.

Indeed, there is no shame in cooking from a packet, especially if you also add in other healthier ingredients. I think it’s better than just grabbing fastfood and it also presents itself as an opportunity to combine ingredients and test out flavours as well as cooking times.

Today’s ingredients:

  • Japanese brand udon ($3.05)
  • Zhenxin organic bok choy (4 stalks for $1.99) Glad it came in a ziploc bag cos I only used two!
  • Mandoo (만두) Korean dumplings x 5
  • Two strips of bacon

What I did:

  1. Boil 350ml of water
  2. Throw in bacon (that has been cut into small slices with a scissors for speed)
  3. When water is boiling, throw in noodles (to be cooked for two minutes)
  4. Throw in dumplings and vegetables at the 1 minute mark. Both of them cook realll fast and you want them not to break apart/ to remain crisp.
  5. Add in seasoning, give it a stir.
  6. Pour into bowl and sprinkle the other packet of stufff found in the udon packet.

That’s the Japanese brand of udon I bought. The noodles were springy and I dare say, just as nice as what you can find in a Japanese cafe or family restaurant.


Ta da! I slurped it all up and even burnt my tongue a little. Hehe!

AAR (After Action Review) :

  • I should not have thrown in the dumplings/mandoo so early. I overestimated the time it would need to cook so I ended up with dumplings that broke apart in my soup
  • On another note, Korean dumplings come in this huge ziploc bag and are a great snack, side dish and addition to a quick noodle dinner fix. I recommend always keeping a packet of these handy in your freezer!
  • After I threw the bacon into the plain water, I doubted myself. Was it a waste of bacon? Shouldn’t bacon always be made to sizzle? What if it becomes a tasteless, limp piece of rubber in this bowl teeming with ingredients? Should I start off with the title “Boiling bacon is like cooking abalone in curry” Which by the way, is a #truestory. Unfounded worries because it still tastes great in the soup and I was looking for pieces of bacon because it tasted great. Some trivia for you – Korean households always have some kimchi on hand in their fridge. My grandma, on the otherhand, keeps rolls of bacon in the freezer at all times. That is all.
  • Do not despise the packet/paste.
  • This is a great dish for when you’re hungry and don’t have much time to cook. It’s also perfect for one person. I call it the “Throw it in” noodles.
Leave a Reply

