Going meatless with mushroom garlic pasta

While shopping for the broccoli salad I was about to prepare for potluck, I faced the sushi dilemma once more. Should I get discounted sushi that is cold and doesn’t look all too appetising or should I try a new recipe? It was about 8.15pm and I was getting hungry. I needed a recipe that would fill me up, not require me to purchase too many ingredients and be easy to scale. And then… I came across a pack of assorted mushrooms ($4.8) at the organic section but I didn’t like the black fungus so I went to check out the normal vegetable section where I saw this lovely box of mushrooms, which were REDUCED TO CLEAR. Yaasss! 😀  $3.48 instead of $7.45 (Which is pretty pricey if you ask me. Alas, I also found out that brussells sprouts cost $11.95 a pack! That recipe will have to wait till I am feeling richer.)

So I was hungry, bordering on hangry, tired  and it was getting late but yet I managed to cook up something that received pretty good feedback so that’ll give you an idea of how manageable this recipe is. For seasoned cooks, they could probably do it blindfolded.

Aforementioned feedback:

Mum: It’s nice. Nothing I would change. I love mushrooms.

Sister: Nice, but maybe can add more cheese.

Colleague (Coz I brought it to work for breakfast): Wah, smells so good. You make one ah?

One portobello, and a mix of white and brown mushrooms. So preeety.

There is mushroom in my heart for mushrooms ❤

These mushrooms probably rank as the most satisfying and therapeutic thing that I’ve cut to date. So easy to slice through and it’s pretty easy to get nice, uniform slices.If you’ve ever wondered what amazing knife I use to chop chop – a- chopping, it’s a blue one with hearts and stars. The cut-outs can be pretty irritating cos I can’t run my fingers over the side of the blade in one smooth swipe.

250g of mushrooms reduced to this wonderful smelling pot of al fungi.It actually looks kinda dry in this photo but it didn’t taste that way. I was too hungry to try to get a better shot. If you love mushrooms, this is a great dish! Simple, it lets the beautiful scent of mushrooms come through. I would have liked a little more cream (kinda like a carbonara) but this was less gelat (rich) than a carbonara would’ve been. I was kinda paranoid about the salt amounts (what is one quarter of a tablespoon??) and added more in small increments. It turned out fine!

Ingredients

(Serves 6)
454 grams mushrooms (sliced)
large garlic cloves (minced)
tablespoon olive oil
tablespoons butter
454 grams fettuccine pasta (for gluten free pasta, use Tinkyada brown rice fettuccine)
3/8 teaspoons salt (at least)
50 grams parmesan cheese (fresh, shredded)
green onions (chopped)

Instructions:

  1. Heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil and 1 tablespoon of butter in a large skillet on medium-high heat. Add sliced mushrooms and minced garlic. Sprinkle with about 1/8 teaspoon of salt. Cook for about 2 minutes, constantly stirring, until mushrooms are soft. Taste and add more salt, if needed. Remove from heat.
  2. Cook pasta according to the package instructions. Rinse in cold water, drain.
  3. Add pasta to the mushrooms along with 4 tablespoons of butter. Add the remaining 1/4 teaspoon of salt. Gently reheat until butter melts and pasta is very warm. Add grated Parmesan cheese, continue to reheat pasta, stirring until cheese melts.
  4. Definitely add more salt than what I indicate here (I am being conservative) to suite your taste – adding just enough salt (not too much but not too little either) allows all the flavors to blend together: mushrooms, Parmesan cheese, garlic, and butter.
  5. Serve topped with chopped green onions. (Didn’t add any of these)
  6. Note: if available, use truffle salt – it goes great with this recipe. I might also add bacon. Because bacon!

Word of caution: wash your pot immediately after eating or you may end up with a pot marked with hard-to-wash cheese marks at the bottom.

Leave a Reply

