My SkillsFuture Story: 2 days foundations of Chinese cuisine by Palette Sensations

A few months ago, my company shot a series of SkillsFuture videos. If you’re wondering what SkillsFuture is, it’s free money from the government to upgrade yourself for those above the age of 25. The OH-fficial definition is: SkillsFuture is a national movement to provide Singaporeans with the opportunities to develop their fullest potential throughout life, regardless of their starting points. This story in particular, is about a guy who learns how to cook. Coincidence or was I inspired by it? Haha, idk!

So yes, I have been looking out for ways to spend my credits on Coursera, the online learning academy. In the mean time, while on my quest to learn how to cook, I chance upon this cooking class where one can use their skillsfuture credits. WOO HOO! I mean, cooking is totally a skill I will use for now and in the future. Also, that definition… “regardless of their starting points” just speaks to me on another level. So YASS! I signed up for it, despite the fact that I have to take leave to go.

skill-future

The process is really simple. You sign up, pay, receive an email with the invoice and proceed to make your claim on the website. It all happens in a couple of days.

If you’re interested, the class is held by Palette Sensations, which has pretty good reviews on their website. Hah! And here’s the link to what I have signed myself up for. There are a ton of other classes, though not all are eligible for skillsfuture credits. The reason why I chose Chinese cuisine was because my palate is more used to eating Chinese food every day, having grown up on my grandma’s cooking. Also, I find it easier to follow Western cook books as well as read up on recipes and reviews online but I haven’t found any Chinese cooking resource that I love or find easy enough to replicate. I also want to learn more about the techniques.

Techniques:
  • boil, broil, scald 烫,醉,煮,涮,滚,羹
  • steam, double boil, slow cook 焖,蒸,扣
Dishes:
  • Drunken prawns 醉虾
  • Boiled pork belly with garlic and chili sauce 蒜泥白肉
  • Scald Beef in Sichuan gravy 水煮牛肉
  • Seafood bean curd thick soup 海鲜豆腐羹
  • Steam pork ribs with preserve black bean 豆豉排骨
  • Double boil sundried vegetables and pork belly 梅菜扣肉
  • Braised fish head with potato vermicelli 粉皮鱼头
  • Ginger clam soup 姜丝蛤蜊汤

I am excited about the ginger clam soup and feeling kinda intimidated by the drunken prawns. Also, the fact that I am going for the level 2 class cos I couldn’t make it for level 1. AND I emailed the school to ask if this was okay – a noob attending level 2 but they said I didn’t need to attend level one. So err, YOLO!

Till next time! If I can cook all these things, I can totes “prepare a CNY feast”, in the words of a friend whom I was hoping to ask along. Haha.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

