The Luxe Mee Sua

Mee Sua is something I associate with a quick meal. After all, the noodles only take about 30 seconds to cook, faster than you can say, “Maggi, Nissin or Nongshim?”. I had a friend who said mee sua was her instant noodle replacement but I could never figure out how to get the soup going. I mean, what would I do without the seasoning found inside every packet of instant noodles?? Anyhoo, I call this the luxe mee sua cos of all the ingredients that go into it. SHIOKS!  I mean, it’s like eating Marmee drizzled with truffle oil. Okay, bad example but I would call  that The Luxe Marmee. :p You get the point, yah?

Instead of joining my parents at Chinatown to soak in the CNY atmosphere (aka jostle with the gazillion other people who are there for the same purpose), I decided to stay home. Which meant… an opportunity to cook! Why do I sound so excited? Haha. I had been eyeing this recipe for mee sua and was keen to try it out. Unfortunately, my expectations were high and this dish made it to my disappointment diary. Let’s see what I did right / wrong. :]

So the recipe calls for baby abalone but I checked the price at the supermarket and it costs upwards of $36! Whut. I would not pay so much for a quick dinner.  So I reach out for a can of Buddha Jump over the Wall that costs $10.80. I believe this is one of the main problems. While the rest of the ingredients are fresh produce / poultry, this is the only processed sh*t. Thus, when my sister said that the soup tasted like it came out of a can, who do you think I blamed? Hehe. 一分钱,一分货 aka pay peanuts, get monkeys. 🙈  Nonetheless, I still enjoyed eating the ingredients from the can. Chewy abalone and mushroom bits. Next time, I will not buy this brand anymore! HAHA. Also, I will not pour the zhap/sauce into the dish.

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 bundles of  mee sua / mian sian
  • sesame oil
  • Some form of shellfish (in this case, buddha jump over the wall.)

(A) Chicken Soup

  • 2 chicken drumsticks (Blanch in boiling water for 5 min and rinse to get rid of the blood water)
  • Chicken bones (Blanch in boiling water for 5 min and rinse to get rid of the blood water)
  • 1.2 litres water
  • 1 medium onion
  • 4 garlic cloves (smashed)
  • 1/2 tbsp wolfberries (soak in water till you see the effects of osmosis)
  • Salt to taste
  • 2 stems of bok choy, cut into two, length-wise
  • A bunch of enoki mushrooms, if you like em.

DIRECTIONS

Chicken soup

  1. In a soup pot, add (A) except wolfberries and salt. Simmer for about 1 hour, or until chicken is tender. Add drained wolfberries during the last 5 minutes of cooking.
  2. Throw in bok choy (and enoki mushrooms if you have them on hand.
  3. Season to taste with salt. (The salting step always gets me cos I can never be sure how much is enough till I guess I under-season or perhaps will eventually add too much.)
  4. I removed the onions as I am not am not a fan of them in Asian soups.

Assembling your luxe mee sua

  1. Cook mee sua in a pot of boiling water for about 30 seconds, separating the strands with chopsticks.
  2. Transfer the cooked mee sua to two serving bowls. Coat or drench the mee sua with some sesame oil.
  3. When ready to serve, reheat chicken soup and add the shellfish/buddha jump over the wall stuff. Do not neglect aka do not overcook.
  4. Pour soup and all the good stuff over your mee sua / mian xian and serve!
 Here’s a look at the ingredients I put together. While I usually do not like chicken drumsticks as opposed to other cuts, it was pretty yumz and easy to eat. #SlidesOffTheBone Also, the onion looks HUGE because it was. Thankfully, I could just remove it after it had done its job, seasoning the soup.
Special thanks to the Noob Cook for the recipe.
Leave a Reply

