A simple cous cous recipe

As an asian, how long can you survive in a foreign country before you must have some rice? I loveee rice but if I’m on holiday in a non-asian country, I usually stick to whatever local foods they have. So far, the longest I’ve gone is  2 weeks without rice. Perhaps, that’s because I had cous cous, which I feel is a pretty good substitute for rice. It cooks much faster, is much lighter and cooks easily in a pot.

Here are my ingredients! I succumbed to chicken stock from a packet. Haha, it’s a lot less work. 

Cous cous
Fluffing up the cous cous
 

chicken
Marinated chicken fried with some oil and garlic

Ingredients
Mix in all the ingredients – mushrooms, chicken, red bell peppers
cous cous in a bowl
After the ingredients have cooked, mix it in the cous cous.
I like how the red bell peppers made it feel really healthy, the chicken made it a more substantial meal and the mushrooms, well… mushrooms are always a welcome addition. Some people like cous cous, while other find it “interesting” AKA I wouldn’t buy it if I had a choice. Well, there’s only one way to find out which side of the equation you stand on – try it! And why not cook it yourself while you’re at that.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cous cous
  • 1 cup boiling water or chicken stock (recommended)
  • 1 slab of chicken breast (optional)
  • Half a packet of shimeiji mushrooms (optional)
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • Half a red bell pepper, diced
  • Half a yellow onion
  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 1 pinch of black pepper
  • A dash of balsamic vinegar
  • Optional: 1 cup fresh basil leaves ( I substituted with a sprinkle of italian herbs)
  • Optional: 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan cheese (Wanted to be healthy so I didn’t use this.)

Let’s Cook It!

  1. Stir cous cous into boiling stock and return it to a boil.
  2. Cover and remove pot from heat. Let it stand for 5 minutes, before fluffing it with a fork.
  3. In a pan, heat 1 tbsp oil. Fry chicken. Transfer chicken to a plate to rest.
  4. Heat 2 tbsp of oil in pan. Throw in garlic, onions, mushrooms. Cook till onions become translucent and slightly soft.
  5. Then, throw in red peppers followed by tomatoes.
  6. Add salt, pepper, herbs and chicken that has been chopped into small pieces.
  7. Combine cous cous and the pan of ingredients you’ve just cooked.
  8. Serve on nice middle eastern dish ware “cous” it looks nice that way.

My mum found the recipe off AllRecipes. Thanks! I tweaked it to the ingredients I like and had in the fridge.

After Action Review:

  • I read the comments posted on AllRecipes, which recommended using chicken stock instead of water to boil the cous cous. I’m glad I did because I was assured that the cous cous was tasty on its own.
  • Realised that cous cous is a great rice replacement when travelling, at half the weight and because of the ease at which it is cooked.
  • Not sure what difference it made but I fluffed the cous cous before letting it stand for 5 minutes. #kanchiong I shall remember to wait the next time. Perhaps, the cous cous will turn out fluffier. Also, I didn’t cover the pot. >.<

Leave a Reply

