Easy pancakes for groggy mornings

Have you ever made pancakes on a weekday? Not many would largely because of time constraints. Guess what, I woke up too early on one of the weekdays, just like I had been the previous few days. After exhausting everything I wanted to see on Twitter and Instagram, I decided to make myself some breakfast. And I thought – pancakes! Why not? I’d been meaning to make some since I got some lovely maple syrup from Traci two weeks ago. I googled pancakes and the first recipe that came up was from Martha Stewart. Tried the recipe and liked it!

Eating your pancakes by the stack saves time!

I got this Grade 4 maple syrup (did you know maple syrup had grades?? That makes two of us.) together with a note to make brenner. What exactly is brenner? Breakfast + dinner = brenner. Brunch is so yesterday. Knowing I usually cook dinner or after dinner (for lunch the next day), Traci introduced me to the concept of brenner. To my surprise, I chanced upon this scene on The Good Wife. Look what they’re having – pancakes (breakfast) for dinner! AKA brenner!

Mix the dry ingredients
When the pot is more accessible than a mixing bowl… :p
Mix everything together but not too much. It should still be lumpy!

This was my first pancake. It looks like chapati / prata. And I quote Staff Meals from Chanterelle, “Nine times out of ten, the first crepe will stick no matter how careful you are. Don’t worry – just throw it out and consider it an offering to the crepe god.” In the same vein, I think your first pancake will turn out… less than desirable. 

Btw, that’s a cook book I read before I even had any thoughts of cooking. HAHA.

This peach was not as ripe as I hoped it would be. Doused in maple syrup, however, it was edible.

I was kinda amazed by the concentric circles (you can faintly see). It’s formed by spooning out the batter, spoon by spoon.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted, or vegetable oil
  • 1 large egg

Let’s do it!

  1. In a small bowl, mix the dry ingredients – flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together milk, butter (or oil), and egg. Add dry ingredients to milk mixture; whisk until just moistened (do not overmix; a few small lumps are fine).
  3. Rub a stick of butter on a pan to oil it. Heat pan over medium.

  4. For each pancake, spoon 3 to 5 tablespoons of batter onto the pan.

  5. Cook until surface of pancakes have some bubbles and a few have burst, 1 to 2 minutes. Flip carefully with a thin spatula, and cook until browned on the underside, 1 to 2 minutes more.

That’s all folks! I might just become a pancake convert one day.

 

Leave a Reply

